Three.com.hk
Login
3Care dot 3Business dot Home Broadband dot About Us

About us
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
line

Press releases

3 Hong Kong will deploy Huawei’s advanced network technologies in preparation for the high-speed and high-capacity 5G era

  • 5G technology trials and research help 3 Hong Kong prepare for the 5G era.

  • 2100 MHz spectrum to be completely re-farmed by the end of 2017, with gradual roll out of carrier aggregation (CA) technology with five component carriers (5CC) during the year.

  • FDD-TDD network with 5CC achieves a peak network rate of over 1.2Gbps using CA technology in live demonstration.

  • The development of a full cloud network begins; Field tests validated Massive MIMO technology for the 5G era.
Hong Kong – 10 April 2017  – 3 Hong Kong, the mobile communications division of Hutchison Telecommunications Hong Kong Holdings Limited (HTHKH, stock code: 215), and Huawei today announced plans for a series of network upgrades. Deploying Huawei’s advanced technologies over the next few years, 3 Hong Kong will boost its network capacity and coverage to meet rising customer demand for data and prepare for the high-speed and high-capacity 5G era.

Enhancing network capacity, coverage and speed to prepare for a 5G world
The coming 5G era will enable virtual reality, augmented reality and Internet of Things (IoT) applications, driving data usage to new heights. According to a global forecast by Huawei Wireless X Labs1, average data usage is expected to increase rapidly from 8GB per user per month in 2020 to 1GB per day in 2025. Network operators will have to boost network capacity and speed to cope with this surge in data volume in the new 5G era.

“As we move towards the 5G and IoT era, 3 Hong Kong is actively deploying 5G technologies and upgrading its existing network architecture,” said Mr Cliff Woo Chiu-man, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of HTHKH. “In addition to using CA technology with 5CC, we have conducted research and carried out trials for various technologies, such as small cell installations, network cloudification, network function virtualisation (NFV) and Massive MIMO towards the 5G era. These efforts will enable the timely launch of services to meet market demand as soon as the 5G standard and Hong Kong’s spectrum plans are confirmed.”

“As a leading ICT player, Huawei has been researching relevant technologies since 2009 and increasing our investment in this area. Network cloudification has been a recent focus for us, as this is a prerequisite for the future deployment of 5G networks. We have gained extensive experience in network cloudification and commercial applications of the technology,” said Dr Zhou Yuefeng, Chief Marketing Officer, Wireless Network Product Line of Huawei Technologies Co. Limited. "Huawei is honoured to collaborate with 3 Hong Kong to create a full cloud network.”

Completing the re-farming of 2100 MHz spectrum in 2H 2017, with planned deployment of CA technology with 5CC by year-end. Maximum network speed can reach over 1.2Gbps with compatible handsets.
3 Hong Kong is currently the only mobile operator in Hong Kong with 900 MHz, 1800 MHz, 2100 MHz, 2300 MHz and 2600 MHz spectrums in service. 3 Hong Kong has been re-farming spectrum to maximise bandwidth efficiency as customer data usage patterns change in recent years. Having already re-farmed its 900 MHz spectrum for 4G last year, 3 Hong Kong intends to complete the re-farming of its 2100 MHz spectrum for 4G service in the second half of this year. By that time, all five bands of spectrum will be available for 4G service, meeting customers’ increasing demand for data services.

Against this backdrop, 3 Hong Kong will leverage CA technology to deploy an evolved network with 5CC. This will give customers a superior mobile service experience. To provide the necessary higher bandwidth, 3 Hong Kong will combine 1800 MHz, 2100 MHz, 2300 MHz x2 and 2600 MHz spectrums with Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) and Time Division Duplex (TDD) 5CC CA technology, along with 4 × 4 MIMO and 256 Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (QAM) technology. With compatible terminals that support the relevant technologies, customers will be able to enjoy data download speeds of over 1.2Gbps, which is several times faster than the current network. For example, this will allow users to download a 90-minute Blu-ray film in as little as five minutes.  3 Hong Kong plans to launch the respective network by the end of 2017.  The new network is expected to better meet demand for innovative applications in the IoT era as devices that can support 5CC FDD and TDD standards become available.

Conducting field tests and validations for Massive MIMO technology and developing a full cloud network for the 5G Era
While continuing to enhance its 4.5G network, 3 Hong Kong has also begun planning for the deployment of 5G technologies in order to facilitate the swift launch of services as soon as the relevant technology standard is confirmed. Global best practice in development planning for 5G technology emphasises network cloudification and network capacity.

Huawei is making network cloudification possible with the introduction of advanced technologies such as CloudEdge, CloudRAN and CloudAIR.
    

  • CloudEdge brings core network resources to the cloud, helping operators flexibly adjust network configurations to meet demand for new services and maximise network efficiency. 
  • CloudRAN centralises the management of baseband configurations on the cloud, reducing network construction and allowing customers to use smooth mobile services anytime, anywhere.
  • CloudAIR cloudifies the air interface cloud to dynamically adjust spectrum formats and allocates spectrum resources based upon fluctuations in network traffic, helping operators meet customer demand for data and improve cell edge performances with more efficient use of spectrum resources.

These three technologies help network operators integrate core networks, wireless access networks and spectrum, and quickly set up new network architectures and specifications to meet current and future demand for communications services while maximizing network efficiency.
3 Hong Kong and Huawei have already deployed CloudEdge technology on the 3 Hong Kong core network, and they are now applying CloudRAN technology to its wireless access network. The deployment of CloudAIR technology is also in the pipeline to ensure complete cloudification.

3 Hong Kong is also developing Massive MIMO technology, which serves to enhance network capacity. A Massive MIMO base station with 2300 MHz TDD was built in Causeway Bay and numerous field tests were conducted on this 5G technology during a large-scale public event. Test results show that Massive MIMO base stations offer more than six times the capacity of traditional 4G base stations with the same spectrum specifications on a TDD single carrier of 20 MHz bandwidth. Through a number of tests and validations, the technical team has become proficient in deploying the Massive MIMO technology in a densely populated environment with heavy data traffic, as well as adequately controlling dramatic fluctuations in footfall and data volume in a real-life setting. 3 Hong Kong plans to continue the deployment of this technology in prime locations within the year, and will work closely with Huawei to explore the feasibility of deploying FDD Massive MIMO to enhance spectrum efficiency.

3 Hong Kong will continue to work with Huawei to conduct research on network cloudification and Massive MIMO technology to lay a solid foundation for the 5G era.


1 “The Future of Mobile Broadband Report” issued in February 2017

 

- Ends -

About 3 Hong Kong
3 Hong Kong is a leading mobile communications service provider and the only local operator to own blocks of spectrum across the 900MHz, 1800MHz, 2100MHz, 2300MHz and 2600MHz bands. 3 Hong Kong offers cutting-edge data, voice and roaming services under the “3” brand via far-reaching advanced 4G LTE, 3G and 2G networks. 3 Hong Kong also works with renowned partners to offer a wealth of innovative mobile devices and value-added services, while providing high-speed Wi-Fi at 3 Hong Kong WiFi hotspots to serve Hong Kong’s major areas. 3 Hong Kong is the mobile division of Hutchison Telecommunications Hong Kong Holdings Limited (stock code: 215), a group member of CK Hutchison Holdings (stock code: 1).

For more information on 3 Hong Kong, please visit www.three.com.hk.
For more information on HTHKH, visit www.hthkh.com.

 

About Huawei
Huawei is a leading global information and communications technology (ICT) solutions provider. Our aim is to enrich life and improve efficiency through a better connected world, acting as a responsible corporate citizen, innovative enabler for the information society, and collaborative contributor to the industry. Driven by customer-centric innovation and open partnerships, Huawei has established an end-to-end ICT solutions portfolio that gives customers competitive advantages in telecom and enterprise networks, devices and cloud computing. Huawei’s 180,000 employees worldwide are committed to creating maximum value for telecom operators, enterprises and consumers. Our innovative ICT solutions, products and services are used in more than 170 countries and regions, serving over one-third of the world's population. Founded in 1987, Huawei is a private company fully owned by its employees.

For more information, please visit Huawei online at www.huawei.com or follow us on:
http://www.linkedin.com/company/Huawei
http://www.twitter.com/Huawei
http://www.facebook.com/Huawei
http://www.google.com/+Huawei
http://www.youtube.com/Huawei

 
promoblk_3ichat_lte_e.jpg
promoblk_3book_lte_e.jpg
image_e.jpg

Three.com.hk
登入
客戶服務 dot 商業服務 dot 家居寬頻 dot 關於我們
網上獨家 3優惠 手機及裝置 iPhone 月費計劃 增值服務 資訊娛樂 流動寬頻 IDD及漫遊服務 儲值咭

關於我們
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
dot
icon
dot
dot
dot
dot
line

新聞稿

 

3香港採用華為先進技術升級網絡
部署邁向5G高速、高容量新世代

  • 開展多項5G技術研究及測試,為5G年代作好準備

  • 下半年完成2100兆赫頻譜重組,並於年內開始逐步開通5CC(Component Carrier)載波聚合(Carrier Aggregation)技術

  • 即場展示FDD+TDD 5CC載波聚合技術,最高網速提升至逾1.2Gbps

  • 邁向 5G 世代,開展建設全雲端化網絡,實地測試及驗證Massive MIMO技術

香港,2017年4月10日 – 和記電訊香港控股有限公司(股份代號︰215)旗下流動通訊業務3香港與華為今天宣佈一系列有關網絡升級的部署,3香港未來數年將陸續採用華為多項先進技術,提升網絡容量及覆蓋,以配合市場極速增長的數據使用量,為邁向5G高速、高容量的通訊應用年代作好部署。

提升網絡容量、覆蓋、速度 為5G年代作好準備
邁向5G年代,虛擬實境(Virtual Reality)、擴增實境(Augmented Reality)及物聯網等相關應用將應運而生,帶動數據用量不斷攀升。根據華為無線應用場景實驗室(Wireless X Labs)的預測數據1指出,2020年全球用戶平均每名每月數據用量將達8GB,至2025年更急速上升至平均每天1GB。網絡商必需提升網絡容量及速度,以迎接5G新世代。

和記電訊香港控股有限公司執行董事兼行政總裁胡超文表示:「邁進5G與物聯網通訊應用的年代,3香港已開始積極部署5G發展,開展網絡架構優化及提升工程,除建設5CC載波聚合技術外,並就微型基站鋪設、網絡全雲端化、網絡功能虛擬化(Network Functions Virtualisation)及Massive MIMO等多項朝向5G發展的技術進行研究及測試,務求在5G制式及本港頻譜規劃落實後可盡快推出服務,滿足市場對5G服務的需求。」

華為無線網絡產品線首席營銷官周躍峰表示:「作為ICT產業的領跑者,華為從2009年開始啟動5G研究並持續加大投入,深刻認識到網絡雲端化是邁向5G網絡的必要前提,故我們在網絡的雲端化演進和商業應用方面已累積了豐富的技術。華為非常榮幸和3香港合作共同打造全雲端化網絡。」

下半年完成2100兆赫頻譜重組 擬於年底開通5CC網絡
配合適用手機最高網速可逾1.2Gbps
3香港是全港唯一同時於900兆赫、1800兆赫、2100兆赫、2300兆赫及2600兆赫頻段均擁有可提供服務頻譜的營辦商,近年一直因應客戶的使用習慣而重組頻譜,以發揮頻譜的最大效用。繼去年重組900兆赫頻譜以提供4G服務後,3香港將於今年下半年完成重組2100兆赫頻譜以提供4G服務的工程,屆時5個頻段均有提供4G服務的頻譜,以滿足客戶對數據服務日益上升的需求。

在此優勢下,3香港將進一步以載波聚合技術,部署打造5個元件載波(Component Carrier或CC)的5CC網絡,為客戶帶來非凡的流動通訊服務。透過使用將現有於1800兆赫、2100兆赫、2300兆赫×2及2600兆赫頻段的頻譜,配合FDD+TDD 5CC載波聚合技術、4×4 MIMO(Multi-Input Multi-Output;多輸入多輸出)及256QAM(Quadrature Amplitude Modulation;正交幅度調制)等技術,可提供更高頻寬。在支援相應技術的終端裝置配合下,客戶的數據下載速度與現時的速度比較,可提升數倍至超過1.2Gbps(1,200Mbps),屆時客戶下載一套90分鐘的藍光電影,最快於5分鐘內便可完成下載。3香港擬於本年底開通5CC 網絡,而隨著支援5CC 網絡的智能裝置推出市場,預期有關網絡發展可更有效滿足物聯網世代的創新應用。

邁向5G世代 開展建設全雲端化網絡 實地測試及驗證Massive MIMO技術
除了積極完善4.5G網絡外,3香港已著手規劃及部署5G發展,務求在有關技術及規格落實後可盡快推出服務。按照目前全球的5G發展規劃中,網絡雲端化及網絡容量將會是其中兩項重點。

華為以創新技術引入雲端化網絡的理念,研發CloudEdge、CloudRAN和CloudAIR等技術。CloudEdge技術透過將核心網絡資源雲端化,讓網絡商可因應客戶選用的服務及數據流量等不同需要,靈活分配網絡資源;CloudRAN將基頻(baseband)設置於雲端集中管理,改善網絡擠塞情況,讓客戶於不同時間不同地區均可使用流暢的流動通訊服務;CloudAIR技術則透過將空口雲端化,利用軟件因應客戶於不同區域使用服務的實際情況,輕易改變頻譜制式,以應付當時的通訊流量,更有效地運用頻譜資源滿足客戶需要。此三項先進技術能夠幫助網絡商將核心網絡、無線接入網絡及頻譜整合,迅速設定新網絡架構及規格以配合實際通訊需要及新服務的需求,同時將網絡效率提升至最高。

現時,3香港與華為已採用CloudEdge技術將核心網絡雲端化,另一方面亦已開始將CloudRAN技術應用至無線接入網絡,並於稍後時間研究CloudAIR技術的安排,務求將網絡全面雲端化。

3香港亦關注Massive MIMO這項能夠提升網絡容量技術的發展,早前已於銅鑼灣的市中心安裝了一個應用於TDD 2300兆赫的Massive MIMO基站,並於大型公眾活動期間多次實地測試該項5G技術。實地測試顯示該已安裝Massive MIMO的基站,於20MHz頻寬的TDD單載波上,提供較應用同一頻譜規格的傳統4G基站逾6倍的容量。透過多次測試及驗證,技術團隊已充份掌握如何將Massive MIMO技術,應用在本港樓宇密集的環境及舉行大型公眾活動的項目上,以及如何把人流及數據量飆升的實際情況控制得宜。3香港預期於年內會陸續在人流密集的地區安裝該項技術,並與華為研究使用FDD Massive MIMO的可行性以提高頻譜效益。

3香港將繼續與華為就網絡雲端化及Massive MIMO等技術進行深入研究,務求為日後的5G網絡建立穩固根基,為邁向5G作好全面準備。



1於2017年2月發表的《The Future of Mobile Broadband》報告。

 


【完】

有關3香港
3香港是領先的流動通訊服務營辦商,是目前本港唯一擁有橫跨900兆赫、1800兆赫、2100兆赫、2300兆赫及2600兆赫五個頻譜制式頻段的網絡商。3香港透過覆蓋廣泛及先進的4G LTE、3G及2G網絡,以「3」品牌為客戶提供尖端的數據、話音及漫遊流動通訊服務,並與全球各地著名的供應商合作,引入嶄新的流動裝置和增值服務;配合遍佈全港各主要地區的3香港WiFi熱點,提供高速的無線上網服務。3香港是和記電訊香港控股有限公司(股份代號︰215)的流動通訊業務,和記電訊香港控股為長江和記實業(股份代號:1)集團成員。

有關3香港的詳情,請瀏覽 www.three.com.hk
有關和記電訊香港控股的詳情,請瀏覽 www.hthkh.com

關於華為
華為是全球領先的資訊與通訊(ICT)解決方案供應商。作為負責任的穩健經營者、創新的資訊社會使能者、合作共贏的產業貢獻者,華為致力於構建更美好的全聯接世界。華為堅持圍繞客戶需求的持續創新,與合作夥伴開放合作,在電訊網絡、企業網絡、終端和雲計算等領域構築了端到端的解決方案優勢。通過全球專注敬業的18萬名華為人,致力於為運營商客戶、企業客戶和消費者創造最大的價值,提供有競爭力的ICT解決方案、產品和服務。目前,華為的業務遍及全球170多個國家和地區,服務全世界1/3以上的人口。華為公司成立於1987年,是一家由員工持有全部股份的民營企業。欲瞭解更多詳情,請參閱華為官網:www.huawei.com
另可透過以下渠道獲得最新資訊:
http://www.linkedin.com/company/Huawei
http://www.twitter.com/Huawei
http://www.facebook.com/Huawei
http://www.google.com/+Huawei
http://www.youtube.com/Huawei

 
promoblk_3book_lte_c.jpg
image_c.jpg
promoblk_roaming_3c.jpg